Not Insta-famous, but we’re getting there.

 

Hello Friends!

I am lucky enough to have a job where if I think up an idea, I almost always can give it a try. That is how the Museum’s Instagram was created. I asked, and I received. Studying Art History in school opened my eyes to the beauty of art found everyday while working in design has honed my eye for detail.  I enjoy taking photos of large scenes and small subtleties.

As of July 2016, we have 269 followers. We gained 30 new followers just this month! Our growing fan base is SO EXCITING!

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 12.58.11 PM

I consider myself very lucky that I have the type of work environment where I can say “I’m going outside to take some pictures of flowers” and its just accepted. I have taken a lot of photos of outside the museum. We are housed on a park with some beautiful gardens and I take full advantage of that whenever I can.

I also love catching the details of an exhibit. Someone once told me Instagram is “what’s beautiful today” and I think that maybe by showcasing some of the smaller scenes within the museum, people will want to come see the bigger picture. This reasoning has lead to two Instagram campaigns, #hiddeninplainsight and #elfonamuseumshelf.

#hiddeninplainsight is an idea I saw on another museum’s Instagram. They were taking photos of things up close and posting them. I thought we could do something along those lines. I started a campaign where twice a week I would post a photo of something up close, and if you came into the museum and spotted it, or better yet took a photo with it, you would get a prize.

#elfonamuseumshelf is a similar concept. I did not grow up with elf on a shelf, and its explosion into pop culture a few years ago gave me some ideas. We have a large festival each year at the museum called the Gallery of Trees. Non profit organizations in the area decorate a tree for their organization and the museum is open 7 days a week for the public to view them. I came up with a plan to hide an elf (Elmer) throughout the museum in various exhibits, and each child that spotted him would get a gift. We also promote people to take pictures with Elmer when they do find him.

 

Pop Culutre Fads are Promotional Goldmines

I try to keep in mind current events and new innovations as much as possible. An example of this would be the controversial new game Pokémon Go. There have been many articles about this video game phenomenon and its impact on museums and other industries. I am proud our museum is part of a growing group of businesses that see the potential for marketing to players (or trainers). 

maxresdefault

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 1.02.09 PM

I posted this photo, and that day we received 15 new followers! I am still learning all the ways to use this platform to gain followers and get people to visit the museum. I am excited to see what we will think up next!

Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

