Let me introduce myself

ORGANIZED CHAOS

Life is full of contradictions, but no phrase fits my life more perfectly than this oxymoron. I have binders, planners, and files jam packed with information and little notes and scribbles stuffed into every pocket. I prepare for everything yet I am never fully prepared. Why is this?

I am twenty five. I am a curator. I have no idea what I am doing.

Growing up in a small town with very few artistic avenues can make finding a creative outlet difficult. By college years I discovered a passion for art history. One trip to the Art Institute of Chicago and I was a gone-er.  After graduating, I jumped right into the work force at a book distributing warehouse. Almost an entire year went by’ and though I was making good money and doing something relativity interesting, I found myself feeling unfulfilled. I started volunteering at my local History Museum. It was the most fun I had ever had, and I began spending as much time as possible there. A position opened up, I was offered the title of Curator of Exhibits, and I took it without a seconds pause.

I can still remember jumping up and down in my parents driveway for a solid five minutes before thinking, “wait…how do I do this?”

Being a curator at a small museum is both stressful and exhilarating. The staff is almost all part time so we all help each other out with each project. A typical day can consist of setting up for an event, giving tours of the grounds, or painting exhibit cases . One could spend the morning searching for a record in the archives, and the afternoon setting up an exhibit. Having so many projects at one time has allowed me to learn a great deal about museum work and problem solving. From the chaos springs creativity, and I have never felt more inspired.

I started this blog as a place to keep a record of some of the incredible projects I have been lucky enough to work on with my talented co-workers.

I hope you enjoy it.

Thanks for popping by!

Leave a Reply

